Rapports - Ce que vous devez savoir

Perte et gaspillage alimentaires au niveau global L'étude met en évidence les pertes qui se produisent le long de la chaîne alimentaire, et procède à des évaluations de leur ampleur. En outre, elle identifie les causes des pertes alimentaires et les moyens permettant de les prévenir. Les résultats de l'étude montrent que près d'un tiers des aliments produits pour la consommation humaine est perdu ou gaspillé à  l'échelle mondiale, soit 1,3 milliard de tonnes par an. Cela signifie qu’inévitablement d’importantes quantités de ressources utilisées dans la production alimentaire sont utilisées en vain, et que les émissions de gaz à effet de serre causées par la production alimentaire se retrouvent également perdues ou gaspillées.
Lire plus »

Ecologiser l’économie avec l’agriculture 
Mettre fin à la faim et opérer la transition vers une agriculture durable et des systèmes alimentaires 
L'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies (AGNU), à travers la résolution 64/236 du 24 Décembre 2009 a décidé d'organiser la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le développement durable,  à Rio de Janeiro, du 3  au 6 Juin 2012 (CNUDD, aussi appelée Rio +20).  Les deux principaux thèmes énoncés par l'Assemblée générale de la CNUDD sont les suivants: une économie verte dans le contexte du développement durable et de l'éradication de la pauvreté et le cadre institutionnel du développement durable. Le processus préparatoire prévoit trois sessions du Comité préparatoire et trois réunions d’intersessions.
Lire plus »

VERS LE FUTUR QUE NOUS VOULONS 
Mettre fin à la faim et opérer la transition vers une agriculture durable et des systèmes alimentaires

Comme déclaré lors de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le développement humain et lors du sommet de la Terre 1992, les êtres humains sont au centre du développement durable.Cependant, même aujourd’hui, plus de 900 millions de personnes souffrent encore de la faim. Les populations pauvres à travers le monde, spécialement dans les zones rurales, sont les plus vulnérables aux crises alimentaires, climatiques, financières, économiques, sociales  auxquels fait face le monde actuellement. 
Lire plus»

 

Volatilité des prix et sécurité alimentaire 
Un rapport du Panel d’experts de haut niveau sur la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition - 
Juillet 2011
Le comité de la sécurité alimentaire mondiale a subi une réforme en 2009 afin de rendre la gouvernance internationale de la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition plus efficace à travers une coordination, une cohérence politique améliorée ainsi qu’un appui-conseil aux pays et aux régions. Le Groupe d’experts de haut niveau sur la sécurité alimentaire et la nutrition  a été mis en place pour obtenir des conseils scientifiques basés  sur la connaissance pour soutenir la formulation des politiques, créant ainsi une interface entre les connaissances et les politiques publiques. Le  Groupe d’experts est dirigé par un comité de pilotage, mis en place en juillet 2010 .Les travaux du groupe  soutiennent l’agenda politique du comité. Il sert également à sensibiliser le public sur les questions  émergentes.
Lire plus »

Le rôle critique des tendances globales de consommation alimentaire pour la réalisation de systèmes alimentaires durables et de l'Alimentation pour Tous
Un document de travail du PNUE Si les tendances  actuelles relatives à la croissance de la population et à la consommation se poursuivent, l'humanité aura besoin de l'équivalent de deux planètes Terre pour soutenir  la vie d’ici à 2030 (Global Footprint Network, 2012). Ces tendances de consommation sont particulièrement préoccupantes lorsqu'elles sont liées à l'alimentation. Le secteur de l’alimentation représente le secteur le  plus vital de tous les secteurs et présente une forte intensité des ressources. Une réflexion globale a démarré et est relative à la nécessité d'aborder la trajectoire insoutenable du système alimentaire mondial. Ce qui n'a pas encore été inclus dans ces discussions, est la nécessité de revenir aux racines de ces  problèmes c’est-à-dire  les habitudes de consommation  à forte intensité de  ressources qui dictent en grande partie notre système de production alimentaire mondiale.
Lire plus  »

Rapport sur les attitudes des consommateurs face à la perte et à l’emballage alimentaire 
Approximativement 60% des déchets alimentaires des ménages provient de produits non  consommés à temps », principalement des produits périssables ou ayant une durée de consommation courte, avec une valeur d’environ £ 6,7 milliards. Bien que beaucoup de recherches aient été effectuées séparément sur les déchets alimentaires et les emballages alimentaires, cette nouvelle recherche  apporte des éléments de compréhension et nous aide à développer et à apporter des solutions pour aider les consommateurs. Lire plus  »

Commission européenne – ETUDE PREPARARATOIRE SUR LE GASPILLAGE ALIMENTAIRE A TRAVERS L’UE
Bien qu'il représente une grande proportion de bio-déchets, il n’y a pas de vision globale  de la situation du gaspillage alimentaire dans l’Union européenne. Cette étude a pour objectif de fournir de l’information à l’Union européenne. Plus d'informations sur la problématique est nécessaire pour déterminer l'ampleur du problème et d'identifier les mesures appropriées qui pourraient être prises. Lire plus »

Réponse de l’agriculture face à la crise alimentaire mondiale 
L’augmentation de la population  non contrôlée combinée avec l'espérance de vie, la conversion des terres, la production de biocarburants et un secteur de l'agriculture diminué en raison de la hausse des prix du pétrole et le changement climatique peut conduire à des pénuries alimentaires et des hausses des  prix des denrées alimentaires à l'échelle mondiale.
Lire plus »
Eviter les futurs famines- Renforcer la base écologique de la sécurité à travers des systèmes alimentaires durables 
Ce rapport « Eviter les futurs famines- Renforcer la base écologique de la sécurité à travers des systèmes alimentaires durables » est une collaboration unique de 12 scientifiques et experts engagés dans les systèmes alimentaires mondiaux. Le rapport aborde un aspect important du discours sur la sécurité alimentaire: la  base écologique de la sécurité alimentaire
Lire plus »
FAO- Fiche & Conseils pratiques LE SAVIEZ-VOUS? Aujourd'hui, il y a 900 millions de personnes souffrant de la faim dans le monde et un milliard de personnes suralimentées.  Si tendances de la production et de la consommation actuelles se poursuivent, la production alimentaire mondiale devrait augmenter de 60 pour cent d'ici 2050.
Lire plus »

Faits sur le gaspillage alimentaire aux USA
40% de la nourriture disponibles se retrouvent non consommés. Cela équivaut à 165.6 milliards de nourriture gaspillée chaque année. 
Lire plus »

Rapport du NRDC (conseil de défense des ressources nationales)- Comment l’Amérique perd plus de 40% de sa nourriture de la ferme à l’assiette 
Le parcours de la nourriture de la ferme vers nos  assiettes consomme 10%  du budget de l’énergie  des Etats Unis, utilise  50 % de la terre aux USA, et 80% de l’eau pur consommé aux Etats Unis. Pourtant, 40 % de la nourriture aux Etats Unis ne sont pas consommés. Lire plus »
Rapport de la NRDC –la valeur ajoutée de vos restes: la réduction du gaspillage alimentaire peut économiser de l'argent et des ressources
Nourrir la population américaine requiert un montant important de terre et de ressources. 40 % de la nourriture aux Etats Unis se perd.  Les ressources alimentaires nécessaires à la production alimentaire équivalent  à 25% de l’eau pur, 4% du pétrole que nous consommons, et plus de 165 milliards de dollars dédié à produire de la nourriture qui ne sera jamais consommé. 
Lire plus »

Rapport de la NRDC- Réduction de la récolte: les causes de la perte de fruits et des légumes lors de la production
Comme expliqué dans une précédente édition  du rapport de la NRDC, environ 40 pour cent de la production  alimentaire  aux Etats Unis n’est jamais consommé. C'est une occasion manquée de fournir plus de nourriture à ceux qui en ont besoin ainsi qu’une perte massive des ressources nécessaires pour produire cette nourriture.

Lire plus»

Sur le future de l’alimentation: discours de S.E Prince Charles 
Le 4 mai 2011, SE  le Prince Charles, Prince de Galles, a prononcé le discours principal lors de la conférence  sur le futur de l’alimentation  à l'Université de Georgetown à Washington, l’ édition commémorative spéciale de ce discours a été mise à jour  avec une toute nouvelle préface par Wendell Berry et  une postface par Will Allen et Eric.
Lire plus  »

Partenaires

Reports

enexp150 Food losses and waste in the context of sustainable food systems
A report by The High Level Panel of Experts on Food Security and Nutrition
June 2014

Read more »
wri-report-reporti Creating a Sustainable Food Future
A menu of solutions to sustainably feed more than 9 billion people by 2050

Read more »
bush-telegraphi

Bush Telegraph
We all need food, water and shelter. Without them we will not survive. With over 7 billion people in the world today, we have become too dependent on the global food system.

Read more »

wrapreportzi Household Food and Drink Waste in the United Kingdom 2012
This report provides estimates of the amount of food and drink waste generated by UK households in 2012.

Read more »
Quantaz Quanta Natura Sprechiamo
Le Presioni ambientali delgi sprechi alimentari in Italia

Read more »
healthy-pple-reportz Healthy People Depend on Healthy Food Systems - Sustainable food systems for Food Security and Nutrition
World Food Day - 16 October 2013


Read more »
1stAfricaz 1st Africa Food Security & Adaptation Conference 2013

Read more »
1stAfrica1stAfricaz 1st Africa Food Security & Adaptation Conference 2013

Read more »
foodwastereport0i Food Wastage Footprint - Impacts on Natural Resources (Summary Report)
FAO estimates that each year, approximately one-third of all food produced for human consumption is lost or wasted.
Read more »
foodwastetoolkiti Toolkit - Reducing the Food Wastage Footprint
One-third of all food produced in the world is lost or wasted from farm to fork, according to estimates calculated by FAO (2011). This wastage not only has an enormous negative impact on the global economy and food availability, it also has major environmental impacts. The direct economic cost of food wastage of agricultural products (excluding fish and seafood), based on producer prices only, is about 750 billion USD, equivalent to the GDP of Switzerland.
Read more »
BulletinAfrica Africa Food Security Conference Bulletin
The First Africa Food Security & Adaptation Conference: Harnessing Ecosystem-based Approaches for Food Security and Adaptation to Climate Change in Africa was held from 20-21 August 2013 at the UN headquarters in Nairobi, Kenya. Convened by the UN Environment Programme (UNEP), in collaboration with the UN Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), other UN agencies, governments and other stakeholders, the conference explored ecosystem-based approaches to enhance food security, ecosystem productivity and climate change adaptation in Africa
Read more »
Food Price Spikes and Social Unrest in Africa
Observed food riots throughout much of Africa and the Middle East in the wake of spikes in international food commodity prices have fueled a renewed academic and popular interest in the connection between food prices and social unrest, including widespread speculation and debate about the role of food prices in the Arab Spring.1 Dramatic weather events, diversion of crops for fuel production, and continuing volatility in international grain markets have led many to postulate that food riots will become more frequent, pervasive, and disruptive in the future.
Read more »
Global Food Losses and Food Waste
The study highlights the losses occurring along the entire food chain, and makes assessments of their magnitude. Further, it identifies causes of food losses and possible ways of preventing them. The results of the study suggest that roughly one-third of food produced for human consumption is lost or wasted globally, which amounts to about 1.3 billion tons per year. This inevitably also means that huge amounts of the resources used in food production are used in vain, and that the greenhouse gas emissions caused by production of food that gets lost or wasted are also emissions in vain.
Read more »
Greening the Economy with Agriculture
End hunger and make the transition to sustainable agricultural and food systems

The United Nations General Assembly (UNGA), through Resolution 64/236 of 24 December 2009, decided to organize the United Nations Conference on Sustainable Development, Rio de Janeiro, 3 to 6 June 2012 (UNCSD, also referred to as Rio+20). The two main stated themes decided by the UNGA for UNCSD are: a green economy in the context of sustainable development and poverty eradication; and the institutional framework for sustainable development. The preparatory process foresees three sessions of the preparatory Committee and three inter-sessional meetings.
Read more »
TOWARDS THE FUTURE WE WANT
End hunger and make the transition to sustainable agricultural and food systems

As stated in the 1972 United Nations Conference on the Human Environment and the 1992 Earth Summit, human beings are at the centre of sustainable development. However, even today, over 900 million people still suffer from hunger. Poor populations worldwide, especially in rural areas, are among those most vulnerable to the food, climate, financial, economic, social and energy crises and threats the world faces today.
Read more »
Price volatility and food security
A report by The High Level Panel of Experts on Food Security and Nutrition
July 2011

The UN Committee on World Food Security (CFS) underwent a reform in 2009 in order to make the international governance of food security and nutrition more effective through improved coordination, policy coherence, and support and advice to countries and regions.The reformed CFS set up a High Level Panel of Experts on Food Security and Nutrition (HLPE), for getting credible scientific and knowledge-based advice to underpin policy formulation, thereby creating an interface between knowledge and public policy. The HLPE is directed by a Steering Committee, appointed in July 2010, which I have the privilege to Chair. The work of the HLPE supports the policy agenda of CFS: this makes its reports demand driven. It serves also to raise awareness on emerging issues.
Read more »
The Critical Role of Global Food Consumption Patterns in Achieving Sustainable Food Systems and Food for All
A UNEP Discussion Paper

If current population and consumption trends continue, humanity will need the equivalent of two Earths to support it by 2030 (Global Footprint Network, 2012). These consumption trends are of particular concern when related to food. The most vital of all sectors and yet the most resource intensive, a global discussion has begun in recognition of the need to address the unsustainable trajectory of the global food system. What has not yet been included in these discussions, however, is the need to go to the roots of the challenge: the increasingly resource-intensive consumption patterns that largely dictate the shape of our global food production system.
Read more »
Consumer Attitudes to Food Waste and Food Packaging Report
Approximately 60% of household food waste arises from products ‘not used in time’, mainly perishable or short shelf-life products, with a value of around £6.7 billion. Although much research has been carried out separately on food waste, and food packaging, this new integrated research has added significantly to our understanding, and our ability to help develop and deliver solutions to help consumers.
Read more »
European Commission (DG ENV)PREPARATORY STUDY ON FOOD WASTE ACROSS EU
Although it constitutes a large proportion of bio-waste, no overall view of the situation of food waste in the European Union had been available. More information on the issue was necessary to determine the scale of the problem and to identify appropriate measures that could be taken. This study aims at providing this information to the European Commission.
Read more »
Agriculture’s Response to Global Food Crisis
Planning experts and economists have warned that the world is about to be confronted with a global food crisis unlike anything it has encountered before. Unbridled population increase combined with longer life expectancies, land conversion, biofuel production and a shrinking agriculture sector exacerbated by rising oil prices and climate change may lead to food shortages and spiraling food prices at a global scale.
Read more »
Avoiding Future Famines - Strengthening the Ecological Basis of Security through Sustainable Food Systems
This report – Avoiding Future Famines: Strengthening the Ecological Basis of Food Security through Sustainable Food Systems -is a unique collaboration of 12 leading scientists and experts involved in world food systems. The report addresses an important aspect of the food security discourse: the ecological foundation of food security.
Read more »
FAO- Food Wastage Factsheet & Practical Tips
DID YOU KNOW? Today, there are 900 million hungry people worldwide and one billion people overfed. Under the current production and consumption trends, global food production will need to increase by 60 percent by 2050.
Read more »
US Food Waste Facts
40% of food Americans have available to them goes uneaten. This equates to $165.6 billion in food is waste each year.
Read more »
NRDC (National Resource Defense Council) Report- Wasted: How America is losing Up to 40% of It’s Food from Farm to Fork to Landfill
Getting food from the farm to our fork eats up 10 percent of the total U.S. energy budget, uses 50 percent of U.S. land, and swallows 80 percent of all freshwater consumed in the United States. Yet, 40 percent of food in the United States today goes uneaten.
Read more »
NRDC Report-Your Scraps Add Up: reducing food waste can save money and resources
Feeding the U.S. population requires an enormous amount of land and resources. Yet, 40 percent of food in the U.S. goes to waste. When the resources to grow that food are considered, this amounts to approximately 25 percent of all freshwater, 4 percent of the oil we consume, and more than $165 billion dollars all dedicated to producing food that never gets eaten.
Read more »
NRDC Report-Crop Shrink: Drivers of Fruit and Vegetable Loss at Production
As detailed in a previous Natural resources Defense Council (NRDC) Issue Paper, approximately 40 percent of the U.S. food supply is never eaten. This is a missed opportunity to provide more food to those who need it as well as a massive waste of the resources required to produce that food.
Read more »
On The Future of Food: Speech by HRH Prince Charles
On May 4, 2011, HRH Prince Charles, The Prince of Wales, gave the keynote speech at the Future of Food conference at Georgetown University in Washington, DC. Rodale’s special commemorative edition of that speech has been enhanced with an all-new foreword by Wendell Berry and afterword by Will Allen and Eric.
Read more »

Partners